11 November 2021

Faculty member Manfred Krifka receives Meyer-Struckmann Award

Groundbreaking research in "Language and Cognition"

Professor Manfred Krifka, Director of the Leibniz Center for General Linguistics and Professor at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, will receive this year's Meyer-Struckmann Award of the Heinrich Heine Universität Düsseldorf for his groundbreaking research in the field of "Language and Cognition". The award ceremony with laudation and a lecture by Manfred Krifka will take place on 24 November 2021 at 7:00 pm and will be broadcast digitally.

Krifka works primarily on linguistic semantics and pragmatics, but also in language typology and linguistic field research, including on Bantu and Oceanic languages. With his outstanding research, he has made fundamental contributions to linguistic meaning and its cognitive anchoring. In particular, his work on the question of which parts of the construction of linguistic meaning are universal and thus part of general cognition, and which are language- or culture-specific, is considered groundbreaking by experts. Krifka has led numerous research projects and, among other things, helped establish the Berlin School of Mind and Brain and for 10 years headed the school's Admission Committee. Krifka was and is also editor of several renowned journals.

The Meyer-Struckmann Prize, which is endowed with 20,000 euros, is awarded annually by a jury consisting of members of the Faculty of Philosophy at Heinrich Heine Universität Düsseldorf and representatives of the Foundation. Each year, the jury decides on a new field of research from which the prize winner is to be chosen.

Due to the pandemic, the ceremony will take place in a small group at the Heinrich Heine Universität Düsseldorf and will be broadcast live via YouTube on 24 November 2021 at 7:00 pm. At the award ceremony, Manfred Krifka will give a short insight into his research in a lecture.

YouTube link to the live broadcast of the award ceremony: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zxpn1bfYTvo

Further information on the Meyer-Struckmann Prize: www.stifterservice.de/meyer-struckmann/